Picture
“Welcome to nogreenslime.com, where the distortions, half-truths and
lies by groups claiming a number of environmental impacts from natural gas
development are exposed and rebutted with slime-busting facts.”


     This is the opening line of a website I discovered one day on a
trip to visit some relatives. My family and I were headed to Pittsburgh, PA
traveling along the Pennsylvania Turnpike, when I noticed an interesting
billboard. The billboard had green slime all over it and said, “You’ve been
SLIMED! Distortion, half-truths, lies!” I was curious to see what it was getting
at when I saw that there was another billboard after it urging me to check it
out at nogreenslime.com. Naturally I had to look it up and see what these
billboards were all about. To my surprise it was a website on climate change. As
I read through the information presented on the website I was surprised at the
content. When I first opened the site and saw climate change I thought for sure
it was going to be about the changes we need to be making and the proof that
climate change exists, but it was not. Instead this website is dedicated to
revealing the “lies” of environmental activists. They claim the website is designed to point out the deliberate misinforming of the environmental
activists, but at the same time not attacking the legitimate concerns. 
             
     As I went through this website I found it comical. The creators have five
major points they make about how the drilling, oil, and natural gas industry is
doing important things for the world. But even with my somewhat limited
knowledge of climate change I can rebut all of these statements with facts that
I have learned over the past few years. Anyone who knows even a little bit about
of climate change should be able to see right through their, “no green slime”
act. Also the main supporter/creator is the Pennsylvania Independent Oil and Gas Association. With most of the supporters being associations of oil, gas and
petroleum, this should tell you what kind of bias you will encounter on the
site. The site says it wants to bring the truth out, but it doesn’t have any
facts or statistics about the reality of climate change. They have no scientific
evidence proving its existence or non-existence. So before they can discredit
anyone else, they need to have the real truth out. Also, having this slogan
makes them seem a bit wishy-washy with their views on climate change. 

     Having this website displayed for anyone to see concerns me because it
can easily persuade someone with no knowledge to think that all environmental
activists are liars and don’t have legitimate claims. It can also further
someone’s doubting opinion of climate change if they are on the fence about it.
Both of these outcomes really hurt the efforts to show the general public that
climate change is real, that there are facts proving its existence, and that we
need to be doing something about it. Another thing that concerns me is that one
of their supporters is the PA Department of Environmental Protection. I believe
this type of association should not support this kind of propaganda because it
will have negative effects on the battle of climate change. 

I would not have a negative opinion of this website if it stated all of the facts, good and bad, and kept to their logo by telling the whole truth. What do you think about this website and its claims? 
http://www.nogreenslime.com

 
-Melinda Kitts
Junior Forensic Chemistry Student at York College of PA

Kate Penrod
12/4/2012 12:20:16 pm

It took me several days to calm down enough to type a coherent comment with legitimate points in response to this. I was just completely appalled by the existence of such a website. I was browsing the site and their "facts" are based on nothing concrete. What frustrates me the most about this website is that the supporters and advocates of the site are almost all oil companies. Obviously oil companies are going to say that climate change isn't happening! They want to sell their oil! I think that anyone educated on the topic would immediately rule this website out as being an errant fraud, but what worries me is that people may actually believe the information posted on their website. It is absolutely infuriating that these individuals post absolutely nothing of worth on this website, and pose it as "legitimate facts and concerns" regarding global climate change. This website just elucidated to me the importance of education. The public must be educated about climate change, so that they do not believe nonsense like the "facts" posted on this website. (Also, I found it ironic that the phrase is "green slime" when oil is considered the "black slime." I think I'd rather have green slime, thank you very much.)

Reply
Christina Robinson
12/9/2012 11:46:52 am

After look over this site and reading some of their arguements, I have to agree that it is quite comical. Yes, the oil buisness does produce alot of jobs but you can pretty much make that arguement for any buisness. And as for their resources, all of the organizations they listed that are 'presenting the facts' are all oil companies so of course they will back up anything promoting the oil industry!

Exploring the site more, I was curious to see what "The Real Story" was according to them and the term shale gas came up quite a bit. I looked more into what exactly shale gas was and it seems to have two sides to it. On one hand, "increased shale gas development will help reduce greenhouse gas emissions" according to the Obama administration. On the other hand, "Some studies have alleged that the extraction and use of shale gas may result in the release of more greenhouse gases than conventional natural gas." Opinions about this shale gas vary between every article...well at least of the few I looked over.

I also agree that a website like this would easily persuade someone not knowledgeable about the current climate change situation. As long as people have electricity to charge their phones and gas to fuel their cars..who cares about the rest, right?

Reply
Ashley Kimble
12/10/2012 09:53:28 am

I looked over the website and I don't even know where to begin. I have so many issues with how they are presenting the "facts" to the general public. Yes, I do find it necessary to say "facts" because there is zero scientific research to back up a single thing they are saying. First off you can not have your resources for a scientific issue such as climate change listed different oil companies they are all biased and will not give you any type of real information. Also they have no credibility when it comes to anything based around science. Also this website is completely based around smokes and mirrors hoping that the people who visit the website don't know any better and are distracted by the serious tone of the information. It bothers me when organizations like this try and push false information like this onto the general public. It is difficult enough to get the actual facts out there with out people like this smearing the truth.

Reply
3/24/2013 08:39:13 pm

Natural gas is a gas mixture of various hydrocarbons, of which the largest proportion (greater than 90%), methane (CH4). In smaller quantities are present other hydrocarbons (ethane, propane, butane, and heavier hydrocarbons admixtures) and carbon dioxide (CO2) and nitrogen (N2), and it is possible occurrences of helium, hydrogen, argon, hydrogen, mercury and other vapors.

Reply
4/23/2013 12:39:53 am

Propane can be stored in an appropriate way.

Reply
6/17/2013 08:32:13 pm

All workers on the drilling machine need to have adequate protection for the ears

Reply
8/15/2013 08:29:29 pm

I really appreciate the efforts of nogreenslime.com in revealing the lies of some environmentalists and supporting the truths. However, they lie because they don't have the complete knowledge in the subject, but still they have to support their cause! Regards.

Reply



Leave a Reply.