Picture
Hello everyone! My name is John Siller and I am very pleased to be one of the American Chemical Society’s (ACS) student representatives to the 18th annual Conference of Parties of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change. I am currently a senior chemistry major at York College of Pennsylvania in York, Pennsylvania. This first blog post is to introduce myself and tell you all a little bit about myself and why we are going to Doha, Qatar in December 2012. 

First of all, I am from a small town in New Jersey called Clinton. I have lived there for most of my life except for the first four years and the most recent four years while I have been at college. My mother is a math teacher and my father is a research chemist for ExxonMobil.  Ever since I was a young boy, I have had a passion for learning new things and finding out how things work. My natural curiosity was fostered by my intellectual parents and visits to their workplaces. I attended ‘Bring-Your-Child-to-Work-Day’ at ExxonMobil for over ten years. I was
fascinated with the laboratories and experiments that affected millions of
peoples’ lives. Ever since I started learning chemistry from my father, I knew
that I wanted to be a chemist. Chemistry investigates how things work at the
smallest level and, if we can understand chemistry, we can do almost anything
imaginable. 

Another thing I have recently discovered is that I enjoy teaching others the knowledge I have gathered. Teaching is not only a great way to spread knowledge, it is also a great learning tool for the teacher. I have come to realize that if I simply read something I am a lot less likely to remember it or understand it than if I try to teach it to somebody else. With this opportunity to attend a UN climate conference and this blog I will be sharing my knowledge with all of you and fortifying my knowledge on the subject and this subject is no small thing.
Climate change is real and affects everyone of us on the planet. I admit that at
first I was a bit skeptical about climate change like a lot of people. still are
today, both scientists and non-scientists alike, but then I was taught about the
actual data being collected. Now I am a believer and I understand the danger
climate change poses on our way of life. With this blog I hope to address both
audiences and convince the skeptics that climate change is real and something
must be done or our way of life as we know it is in serious jeopardy. 
 
Anyway that’s enough preaching. Life goes on despite the impending problems and this blog will also cover the process of our journey to the other side of the world and wonder and spectacle that surrounds it. I encourage all of you to get more involved or at least start thinking about climate change. This blog will be a great communication tool and we are open to any feedback or ideas from our readers. We will be posting guest blogs if anyone is interested in voicing their opinion and I am very open to comments and emails. This journey represents a great opportunity in our lives where we will hopefully witness a major decision and a turning point in the war on climate change. And if not we will at least be more educated and have the opportunity to change the world.

Kate Penrod
11/29/2012 02:19:35 am

As a Chemistry student, I have also learned quite a bit about the data collected regarding global climate change. The Keeling Curve alone was sufficient to convince me that climate change is not a "myth." From a scientific standpoint, climate change is very real, humans are definitely contributing to it, and it certainly has overwhelming potential to change all of our lives for the worst.

York College makes a tremendous effort to educate students about the devastating effects of global climate change. The very first chemistry course I took here was with Dr. Peterman, and we spent a few lectures discussing how climate change relates to general chemistry, and how it negatively impacts the earth as a whole. Dr. Foy's course entitled Chemical Issues, Ethics, and Experimental Design focused almost entirely on climate change. Climate change is undeniably one of the most important issues currently facing the chemical society. While at first, I believe we were all a bit less than thrilled to be spending an entire semester discussing a single issue, I feel that we all quickly learned what a colossal issue this is, and how it has the potential to physically change the earth to such an extent that life as we know it would not be possible. I truly believe that more colleges (and high schools) should make an effort to include climate change in not only the Chemistry curriculum, but also the curriculum as a whole. Climate change can easily relate to almost any field, not just the scientific field. It impacts everyone, and if education is provided to more students, perhaps that would help to negate any misinformation regarding the issue that may be provided by the media.

In general, I am hopeful that COP18 in Qatar will help to bring climate change to the attention of not only the scientific community, but also to the general public. I have true faith in the ACS representatives and their abilities to contribute positively and take great strides toward solving issues that have arisen or could potentially arise due to global climate change. Good luck, John and the other ACS representatives!

Reply
stewart devaney
12/5/2012 01:05:15 am

I am a chem. student and i am and engineering student in high school and i was questioning weather there is still room for improvement in engineering new technologies to reduce CO2 emission and if so were is that area like what technologies need to be improved? I keep feeling like i have run out of time to engineer a alternative to oil and I'm losing the motive to keep improving my ideas.

Reply



Leave a Reply.