Hi everyone! My name is Marla Bianca. I am very glad to be one of the
American Chemical Society’s (ACS) student representatives attending the 18th
annual Conference of Parties of the United Nations Framework Convention on
Climate Change in Doha, Qatar.  Currently, I am attending Moravian College in
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, as a senior Chemistry and Environmental Science double major.  

I am from Reinholds Pennsylvania, which is a relatively small town a few miles outside of Ephrata. Ever since I can remember, I have loved the outdoors and just spending time in nature.  I enjoy the beauty and science our environment holds. This is probably how I ended up as a science double major and that English was not my best subject in school.

This summer I had the opportunity to take part in a SOAR (Student Opportunities for Academic Research) project at Moravian College. I did research at the Lehigh Gap Superfund Site on the uptake of heavy metals in plants under the supervision of my advisor Dr. Husic. From her I found out about the chance to attend COP18.  I remembered hearing about other students going previous years and blogging about their experience and  thought that wow, this would be an amazing event to attend but never thought I would. But here we are and now and I will be attending the Global Climate Change Conference!  I am very excited to have gotten the opportunity to go, thanks to Moravian College, ACS, and Dr. Husic.  I hope to learn and see a lot.  I have more of a scientific background on global climate change and I am interested in that as well as the differing political sides and politics which I know less about.  

There are always skeptics but I am looking forward to seeing how different
organizations are going about showing and communicating that climate change is real.  I hope to gain knowledge that I can share with others and maybe help get some more people to realize what a serious issue climate change is.
Jyoti
12/4/2012 03:09:03 am

Hi.. this is Jyoti. I was wondering about the culture, like how is it to be there, all over what is the weather like there, Basically how are people's behavior are they friendly to you or are they mean etc.
My second question is the research that you are doing about the ACS, like how is it going to effect us? Those are my two question is wanted to ask you..
Thank you

Reply



Leave a Reply.