Picture
We had some time to spare before our first event today, so John and I decided to check out the organization and country booths that we hadn't visited yet. One of them, the country of Mauritania (which I had not heard of before), was giving out cool hats that say "Mauritania Addresses Climate Change." So above is a picture of us rocking those hats and supporting Mauritania!

Then, we came across Bellona's booth, where I found a funny handout that I thought you guys might find entertaining. I'll type out what it says in case you can't enlarge the picture. 

"Hi, my name is Norway and I am a petroleum addict.

I've tried it all: vaseline, kerosene, gasoline, jet fuel, and diesel. I've even tried natural gas. Now I'm ready for the twelve steps to recover from my addiction and embrace the green future.

12 Steps to Recovery:

1. We admit that we have a problem. We had let ourselves be dependent on the great power of petroleum.

2. We admit that our intoxication of petroleum has resulted in a petro hangover.

3. We admit that our petroleum addiction has negative consequences for our surroundings and loved ones. Consequences such as poverty, destruction and despair.

4. We admit that our prosperous ecomony based on oil extraction will not last, and that we need to invest both manpower and money in renewable energy sources, such as algae, bio mass, solar, wind, geo thermal, tidal, and wave power.

5. We admit that we are afraid of a life without petroleum. However, we realize that a life with petroleum has no future.

6. We realize that our future has to be green.

7. We admit that we have enojoyed wasting large amounts of precious energy. Improving out energy efficiency will ease the burden on the environment, our economy, and our natural resources.

8. We choose to protect Lofoten and the Arctic environment and to manage our fisheries in a sustainable manner.

9. We commit to good green solutions, such as electric cars. We commit to the joy of plugging in and driving cleaner and cheaper.

10. We choose to fly through the landscape with windpowered high speed trains, instead of being airborne.

11. We realize that carbon capture and storage is part of the solution for remaining emissions and for future carbon negative energy porduction.

12. Having received this long overdue wake up call, we commit to carrying this message to other petroholics and to practice these principles in all our affairs."

So yeah, a little cheesy at times, but overall I thought it was a clever way to interest others in the issue by relating it to a well known disease like addiction. A lot of these points are ones that I consider, like our anxiety about committing to taking the time to plug in an electric car instead of fueling up on gas whenever we feel like it. Clearly, the U.S. could benefit from a similar intervention and rehab.
  

 

Joey Orlando
12/5/2012 12:31:55 am

I think it's awesome to hear that smaller nations (Mauritania and Bellona, which I've personally never heard of either of them) are actively participating in monitoring their effect on the environment and actually doing something about it. Also, I think that they are presenting material on climate change in a unique and intriuging way that not only informs people but also is advertising climate change monitoring (like the hats from Mauritania).

Reply
Katie
12/5/2012 12:57:25 am

I participate in Penn State's pathways conference that encourages women to join a STEM career. I was wondering what inspired you to go into a science career?

Reply
Catherine
12/5/2012 06:51:23 am

I think its great that someone from a small school like york could go to something as amazing as this. That "Petroholic Rehab hanout" is so funny and very true. Why do you think its taking the United States so long to get on board with these changes?

Reply
Steven Zellermayer
12/5/2012 07:07:56 am

I think that it is a very good sign that some of the smaller countries such as Bellona and Mauritania are taking an active role in the climate crisis and are taking steps towards improving their own impact. I believe that while smaller countries may not get as much hype as some of the larger world powers when it comes to climate change they are still a significant factor in our environment and every little step counts in reducing our planets carbon emissions.

Reply
DJ
12/5/2012 07:19:25 am

I like the way that was put. It conveys the information easily and in a way to which the lay person can understand. The thing that makes it interesting is the this is coming from the smaller counties.

I like like Catherine's idea of getting something at York together even if it is a little "cheesy". Things like these really take off in the school.

Reply
Abby Gesselman
12/5/2012 10:19:20 am

I think it so great that even smaller countries (which I have not heard of as well) are so involved with the climate change, and trying to change it for the better. Makes you wonder though why the United States is not completely on board yet? I also like how the information to promote this was presented in such creative ways such as the hats and the rehab paper.

Reply
Terry Young
12/5/2012 10:40:04 am

It is so cool how the small country of Mauritania made these "12 Steps to Recovery!" It is neat how they put somewhat of a comical spin on a serious issue. Hopefully the U.S. will follow them shortly and begin the recovery process as well.

Reply
Christina Robinson
12/5/2012 12:54:36 pm

It was clever of them to convey the issue in an interesting way like this. I feel like something like this is sometimes an easier way to convey information to the general public without bombarding them with scientific information and facts. It is also nice to see smaller countries (of which I've never heard of either) taking an active role in trying to save the environment.

Reply
Marissa Weinfeld
12/5/2012 06:29:05 pm

I think that it interesting to see that so many countries, especially small ones like Mauritania which I have also never heard of are addressing and doing something about climate change. It is shocking to see all of these countries doing so much yet the United States is not fully recognizing the impact of climate change and making an effort to change. I think the United States is pushing aside a huge problem that is going to cause a lot of devastation in the future if changes are not made immediately. Other countries are advertising and making people more aware of climate change where as I feel in the United States people are ignoring it and some even unaware that it is taking place. The United States should definitely learn from other countries and make changes as soon as possible.

Reply
Ashley Kimble
12/7/2012 11:33:14 pm

I like this because it is something that holds your attention while making an important point. I do agree it is cheesy but everything it is saying is still true. It kind of is a disease and I think by putting in this format it almost makes the issue seem more serious and makes you want to take action. I think they handout evokes all the thoughts it was meant to. The U.S. should take a similar plan of action because we are addicts.

Reply
Zach Bensley
12/9/2012 01:20:37 pm

I thought the handout containing the "12 Steps to Recovery," was a very clever and insightful way of opening up individual's eyes about climate change. It was definitely a relatable and sort of personable way to give out information regarding climate change. I think this a great idea to present facts regarding climate change. People are used to reading long articles and become tired from reading them. However, if they are presented with information in this format, it will definitely will open up individual's eyes.

Reply
Kate Penrod
12/10/2012 02:50:49 am

I have mixed feelings about this. On the one hand, I'm so thankful that someone is stepping up on Norway's behalf. On the other hand, addiction is a sensitive topic for me, and I really don't feel it's an accurate representation of the country's dependence on nonrenewable resources. I think it's mainly because it comes off as almost...derogatory towards addiction and the true twelve-step program that I don't find it appropriate. I think that the tone of the piece is almost mocking toward anyone who has actually struggled with an addiction.... I'm not sure, honestly. It's probably just evoking an emotional response in me, which is causing me to read way too far into this, but I really don't think this was an appropriate way to go about stepping up to talk about Norway's dependence. It was definitely good for getting attention though; there's no dispute there.

Reply



Leave a Reply.