After our morning coffee/ hot chocolate trip to a nearby mall, we decided to take the bus into a different part of the city to go to the Doha Sustainability Expo. I honestly was expecting something lame and redundant to what we'd been hearing all week. However, I was completely blown away. The event was hosted by Arab countries like Qatar, Saudi Arabia, and UAE. Ecuador was also there randomly (which provided me with the part of the video with the screaming man). The displays were very interactive, and really got the best of our inner 5 year olds. I also got some free gifts, sandwiches, and artwork (John and I made it and are hanging it in the Conference Room when we get back) that made the trip even more worth it.

Let me just say, these Arab countries have some serious advantage in the green technology department and a lot of ambition. I felt really ignorant walking around the expo center and being surprised by what I saw. At home, we never hear about any of the environmental groups or technology that they have invested in over here! They even had a room set up where you could view their designs for each World Cup stadium for 2022. And the best part - they will be modular, so they can be transported and given to other countries that don't have stadiums! Pretty cool idea if you ask me. Also, this country really doesn't need that many stadiums in one city of maybe 2 million people.

The only thing that was really weird and felt out of place was the animal rights group there. This whole get-up felt a little dramatic to me...

When we exhausted the fun of playing with all of the cool stuff at the Expo, we headed back to the Convention Center to check up on the negotiations and go to a few more side events. I met up with and attempted to get an interview from the woman I had met with at NOAA in D.C., but she wasn't allowed to answer any questions at the moment. She gave me a contact at the U.S. media center, so we'll see where that goes.
 
The guys and I ended up going to the same U.S. event later in the day about renewable energy technological development, specifically solar energy, currently being done in the U.S. John may blog a little about the more technical stuff (which kind of lost me), but I managed to muster up enough courage with my two buddies beside me to ask a question! I almost asked one the day before, but totally chickened out, so this was a big deal for me. It may not have been the most insightful question in the world, but I got to give us ACS representatives a little exposure. Here's a video of it courtesy of John! P.S. No making fun of me haha.
Kiersten
12/6/2012 02:47:14 am

I am so proud you asked a question! I honestly forget if I asked a question when I attended COP17, but knowing that you represented ACS in such a respectful manner shows your dedication; what a great question! In your own opinion, do you agree with his response? My follow up question would be when do they start planning on rebuilding this new system and what resources do they have. IF they think about it so much, when does their plan of action take place?

Reply
David Millard
12/6/2012 06:14:24 am

Very valid question. People know that we have to change our infrastructure, its outdated. Like he said, the one of the main issues is the sheer cost of having to overhaul it. People don't want to think of the cost, but its the number one issue. Also, we can't skimp on it, if we try to go with the cheapest thing, it may cost just as much to keep it running over decades or even more compared to a more expensive idea. Updating is another issue. Like with our computers that have updates every few months, we need to keep the infrastructure updated so that it is easier to fix and keep up to the days standards instead of having to do a complete overhaul like we are probably going to have to do.

Reply
12/6/2012 06:55:31 am

Hey, I'm Ryan a Chemistry student at York Suburban High school. My question for you is... if you were picked by a government organization to change the United State's infrastructure to make it more green where would you start? Thanks! It was fun skyping with you guys.

Reply
Jensica
12/6/2012 08:22:17 am

Hi, my name’s Jensica, I’m also from York Suburban. I would like to ask what is the best action we, as students, can take to stop global warming? Global warming is caused by factory emissions and much more, and I don’t even drive yet. I know we can take care to turn off lights when we’re not in a room, turn down the heat, etc., but is there anything specifically that I could do to take a stand and really crack down on this global warming? I want to do something that would really make a difference.

Reply
Kyra
12/6/2012 12:45:51 pm

Hey, my name's Kyra. I'm a student from York Suburban High School. I was wondering what's the number one thing you have learned at this conference so far? Thanks!

Reply
Ashley Kimble
12/7/2012 10:52:12 pm

I was really impressed with everything I saw in the video from the expo. It was a new take on sustainability and something I had never seen before. I never knew that so much was being done by the Arab countries and it just shows that I should look into different country's contributions a lot more than I already do. I was also impressed with your question. I felt it was something that needed to be addressed. I know he said that they are constantly thinking about working in the new system but how soon will we actually see changes? I know that it will take time because you cannot just replace an infrastructure that has been set up for about 100 years. I agree that there must be a lot of combining the old and the new. I hope to see constant changes.

Reply
Christina Robinson
12/8/2012 09:16:02 am

Not only was I suprised by the amount of information they seem to have had on sustainablilty, but also by the technology they used to convey the information. It looks very hands on and I believe methods like that get people more interested rather than just reading pamphlets, athough I'm sure everyone there is already gung-ho on the whole climate change and sustainability issues.

Very brave of you to ask a question! I do agree that our infrastructure is outdated. Although he mentions the cost of changing it, maybe a change over time is what we need...or maybe what should have been going on already so we wouldn't need to worry about it as much now. This is something that needs to be addressed and even if it would take some time due to money concerns, at least something would get done.

Reply
Joey Orlando
12/9/2012 03:07:49 am

Sounds like a lot of these smaller countries seem to care a lot more about handling climate change than the US does. Also the idea of a modular stadium..pretty neat idea. Maybe in the near future this will allow for bigger events (such as the World Cup, or the Olympics) to be held in smaller nations that aren't able to/don't need to build large venues.

Reply
Zach Bensley
12/9/2012 01:07:09 pm

Nikki! That was awesome that you asked a question! Very proud of you!! Also, I thought it was very interesting how the small countries, such as Qatar and Ecuador, trying to make a difference in regards to climate change. It just goes to show that it doesn't matter how small of a country you are, you're still making a difference and its only the beginning! Also, finding out that the stadium was modular was an amazing idea! It saves other countries so much more money and less construction.

Reply
Kristen Eccleston
12/9/2012 01:54:46 pm

Congrats Nikki for having the guts to ask him a question, I know I would be too nervous to ask one myself. I agree with everyone else and how the smaller countries are more involved in climate change and the effect it is having on our planet. Just now the US needs to step in and do the same!

Reply
Chealsa Mooney
12/9/2012 10:40:27 pm

It was awesome that you asked a question. I agree that our infrastructure needs to be changed, but it will take a lot of money, which will take a lot of time. I think we should have already started the change so it wouldn't be such a big problem now. We would just have to do little updates instead of the whole thing. I think the U.S. should start getting with the program, and help out our climate like the smaller countries are doing.

Reply
6/23/2013 10:46:11 pm

Using solar energy preserve the environment.

Reply



Leave a Reply.